top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKarl Smith

Production planning

In a compressed production cycle, it was ideal for me to plan out the overall making of The Joys of Being Furry to ensure I get the documentary completed by the October 25th deadline.


I built up an assignment planner spreadsheet I created via a template in Google Sheets, which I then exported as a .xlsx file to be used in Microsoft Excel. For this schedule, I assigned a majority of the days to be dedicated towards the animation process, such as the building of additional props, animation of the hand-drawn, 2D Illustrator-built, and 3D Maya-created characters.

Assignment planner

By Week 12, I should have all animations in a near-complete state, which I'll then focus on making minor graphical and animation tweaks before passing them through a final render, and then compositing all shot material into Adobe After Effects for colour correcting and tuning up the footage to make it appear the best it can. The final few days will be allocated to post-production, the final editing touches in Adobe Premiere Pro such as audio and transitions before being rendered into the final product. Certain days will be have been selected for updates on this blog.


Please note that this assignment planner is only an approximation of days I'll be doing a certain task, and may not follow as planned depending on possible production difficulties.


Additionally, I used the project management web utility Trello to help keep track of the progress of the documentaries fifteen shots. Each shot via the storyboard was placed into its own category depending on its status, consisting of asset creating, scene building, animating, compositing, editing, and completion. Using this method will allow me to understand which shots still need the priority to be created, and to help me keep track on which ones I've completed.

Trello shot planner

 

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page