top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKarl Smith

Colour palette

With test screenings in class and with the teacher, I got criticism regarding my colour scheme, with too many saturated colours fighting for attention. This is where I had to step up my game and look into creating a colour palette.


Finding the five ideal colours for my palette was a very tricky task because I had to keep changing the colour of each material whenever I wanted to try another colour scheme. Also, the abundance of available colours made the selection very subjective as I could not figure out what the correct colours were, nor ones which would not make the scene look dull.


However, with some research on certain colour palettes such as the Netflix animated series Hilda (2018-present) and the cinematic works of Wes Anderson, I was finally able to create a satisfactory palette with the Adobe Color Wheel. The colours I picked consisted of bermuda (#87C0CC), padua (#7BCD96), olivine (#A2BF6C), winter hazel (#D6C37B), and cameo (#CCA27F).


From left to right: bermuda (#87C0CC), padua (#7BCD96), olivine (#A2BF6C), winter hazel (#D6C37B), and cameo (#CCA27F).
From left to right: bermuda (#87C0CC), padua (#7BCD96), olivine (#A2BF6C), winter hazel (#D6C37B), and cameo (#CCA27F).

The new colour palette, along with a recoloured reddish texture of the friend furry, solved all the saturation I had before, making the shot's main focus (the two main characters) easier to concentrate on. The new sky, however, does need to be less dull and more saturated, which can be an easy fix.


You can compare before and after the colour palette application in the embedded video below:



 

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page