top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKarl Smith

2D animations

My first attempt at drawing a 2D animation for Shot 02 did not to well, mainly due to my lack of experience with Adobe Animate, and difficulties using my Wacom Intuos with that application (although it's much easier to use with Adobe Photoshop. The result of my animated-on-twos was quite a mess with its jittery movements and inconsistent shapes. Using Animate for the anxiety scene in Shot 11 turned out to be even worse since I couldn't keep up the proportion and movement consistency to make it look good.


With time running out, I managed to perform a successful shortcut for the 2D animation aspects of my documentary. First, I created the outline of a basic human in Adobe Illustrator, then imported it into an After Effects composition and used the Puppet Pin tool to manipulated each body part (this time animating on fours), and finally adding certain effects to give it a hand-drawn like ascetic to it, along with drawing on the facial expressions frame by frame. The wolf animation on Troy's TV was created using the same technique, except with a higher 24fps frame rate.

Puppet Pin Tool

The final shot I completed was the sketching segment (Shot 05). I roughly sketched the three characters with child-like illustrations via Adobe Illustrator (though I would use Photoshop instead if I were to do something like this again as it's better suited for this job). Next, I applied a write on effect onto the animations which reveal both the line-art and colours as if it's being drawn in front of the viewer's eyes. Funny enough, I found out that my illustrations for that shot coincidentally seem very reminiscent to the drawing style of Captain Underpants author Dav Pilkey, whose works have been a big influence in my life.


Due to time constraints, I decided to rely on free emojis for the animal icons that would pop up on, which were obtained from EmojiOne. However, My teach Miriam suggested that I could have emojis with drawn outlines to help match the over aesthetic of the rest of the documentary. To accomplish this, I draw outlines around the edges of the EmojiOne emojis used in the shot, which consisted of a cat, a dog, a fox, a lion, a panda, a rabbit, and a wolf. As these emojis are based upon EmojiOne, the organization will be credited in the finished film.




My attempts at 2D animation, including opening tests which were created through motion graphics, can be viewed in the embedded video below:



Now with the documentary in a near-complete state, that's needed left is minor tweaks, some sound editing, and a 1-minute making-of video. One those are done, I should be ready to submit.

 

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page